She

She wasn’t just another girl. She was passionate. Her eyes lit up when she explained things to me that she loved. Her favorite book, a fact about history. And I would listen and watch her grow more animated until she would stop and look at me sheepishly.

“I’m probably boring you, I’ll stop.”

I never wanted her to stop. I never wanted her go. She wasn’t just another girl. She was strong. Her spirit never gave up, even on her darkest days. I watched her cry till I thought she would drown the world and then turn around and lift up someone else who was struggling. 

“I’m really okay. You don’t have to worry about me.”

But I did. I do. She spends all of her time worrying about everyone else, she doesn’t have time to worry about herself. She wasn’t just another girl. She was loyal to a fault. She was there at the drop of a hat for anyone who asked. She drove hours out of her way to hug a friend whose heart was breaking. She left work to pick up another by the side of the road. She couldn’t just forget people, she was always there.

Leave a Reply

