Tuesday – Part 2

I didn’t stay at the library for much longer. The hour after I met Carson, I sat retyping and rereading the same sentences on my computer and smiling like an idiot. I can’t believe he asked me on a date! Me! I couldn’t concentrate anymore so I packed up my things and headed toward my car. I felt like my feet were barely touching the ground by the time I walked into my apartment. 

“Hello?” I called out, seeing if any of my roommates were home. I stopped and waited for an answer. I guess it’s just me tonight. I opened the door to my room and tossed my backpack next to my floor length mirror. Kicking my pants to the side, I collapsed on my bed. I pulled one of my pillows over my face and screamed. I can’t believe this is happening! Carson… 

I shot up from my bed the next morning and looked at my clock. 10:12. 

*Bzzzzzz* *Bzzzzzz* *Bzzzzzz* 

What on earth..? I picked up my phone from the bedside table wondering who on earth was texting me right now. 

And then I saw the name: Carson Bryans.

My heart skipped a beat and I fumbled as I tried to unlock my phone. 

Message: Goodmorning Haley, I hope it’s alright for me to send this so early, but I couldn’t stop thinking about you last night. Maybe we could get lunch? 

A few hours later, I walked into our local sandwich shop and looked around. He wasn’t there yet. I took a deep breathe. Don’t freak out yet, you’re like ten minutes early. I stepped up to the counter and placed my order. Just then I heard the door open and close behind me. I glanced over my shoulder, and there he was. Act cool, Haley. I turned and his eyes caught mine. Smiles spread across both of our faces. He took three steps and closed the gap between us before reaching his arm around me and giving me a hug. I felt my face flush as I wrapped my arms around his waist. A moment later it was over. Wait come back, I thought. 

“You look nice,” he said as he looked down at me.

“Thanks. You look nice, too.” He just said I looked nice! “How is your day going so far?” I asked after he had ordered his food. 

He shrugged, “Not too bad, I guess. I had a class around 10:30 and just left my second one for the day.” 

“What classes?”

“I had an intro to Latin class this morning and then a literature class.” He glanced my way. “What’s your major?”

I picked up my food from the counter and thanked the man behind the counter.

“I am a History education major. Let me guess yours.” I looked him up and down and scrunched up my face like I was deep in thought. He laughed and I smiled.

“English major?” He grinned. 

“How did you guess?” 

I winked at him, “Guess I’m just that good.” He shook his head at me and picked up his food from the counter. We picked a table at the far end of the shop and sat down across from each other. We sat in silence for a few minutes while we ate. I took the time to take him in. He had small wrinkles in the corners of his eyes. He must smile a lot. He had muscular arms and a thick neck. My eyes scanned down and I noticed his strong chest through his green t-shirt. When I gazed back up to his face, he was staring at me. I glanced away and took another bite of my sandwich. 

“Suddenly shy?” He asked with a lopsided grin on his face. 

“No, just admiring the view.” I said with a hint of mischief in my voice. He quickly took a bite of his own sandwich. Did I just make him blush? I just made him blush! His face got red!

“What, suddenly shy?” I asked as I winked across the table at him. He laughed again. He sounds like a kid when he laughs. Kinda cute. 

“Using my own words against me now?” He shook his head. “I thought you were beautiful before, but I’ll admit, the sass makes it even better.” 

I felt my jaw drop and quickly snapped it shut again. 

“I-I.. Oh. Thank you.” I felt my my face flush again. Smooth, Haley. So much for your sass. 

“You’re pretty alright, too.” I said. Okay, better.

His face lit up. “I’ll take what I can get then. Oh, and thanks for coming to lunch with me, today. I wasn’t sure if it was too soon, or not.” His eyes seemed to sparkle and he looked genuinely happy. 

“Of course,” I replied. “Honestly, I was a little excited that you invited me.” 

He studied my face for a moment. 

“Have we met before?” I must have looked utterly confused because he continued a second later. “I’ve been trying to figure it out since last night. You just look so familiar. I can’t shake it.” 

I thought for a second, have we met before? I mean, I guess it’s possible. There is something familiar about him.. But, then again, wouldn’t I have remembered it?

“I don’t know. Maybe? There is something sort of familiar about you.” I cleared my throat. “But, then again, I think I would have remembered that.” 

Gosh, that smile. “I was just thinking the same thing, but maybe we have, a while ago.”

I shook my head. “Well maybe we can figure it out before our date Tuesday.” 

“Yea, maybe.” He looked like he was deep in thought. I glanced at my watch. Had it really already been an hour? 

I sighed and he looked up at me. 

“I hate to be the bearer or bad news,” I began. “But, I’ve got to get going.” 

“Another date?” He asked jokingly. I shook my head and giggled. 

“Very funny. No, my brother plays football and has a game tonight.” 

His face lit up at the sound of that. 

“A big football fan, huh?” 

He laughed like I had said something funny. 

“Yeah, you can say something like that.” 

Leave a Reply

