Made to Stand Out

I haven’t written in a while. It’s not that I haven’t had time, it’s just, I haven’t been able to get my thoughts together enough to write them down coherently.

But yesterday, I was sitting at work with some of my co-workers. I started this new job a couple of months ago and from day one, I haven’t fit in here. It’s a strange bunch, honestly. They can be nice, but they all have the same personality and mostly the same beliefs – or no beliefs if that makes sense. Within my first couple of weeks here we had a couple hours of down time and we were eating lunch talking about some new job applications. The girl’s we were reading had been a leader at a church camp. Immediately one of the people I work with went, “Well I guess we’re not hiring her.” Most of the people in the room nodded their heads. Me, being me, asked, “Why?” My co-worker looked at me and laughed, “We are probably the only place in town that discriminates against Christians.” I said I was a Christian. They all just kind of looked at me. And then I said isn’t another of the guys here a Catholic? They laughed and said but he didn’t count. I was taken aback. I didn’t know what to think, or say for that matter. So, I remained quiet. 

Over the past month and a half that I’ve worked here since, it has become even more apparent to me that I do not fit in here. They definitely have their own way of doing things, their own way of entertainment, and their own strange humor. 

Yesterday, one of the tables I was waiting on bowed their heads to pray before they ate. My heart felt warm. It made me so happy. One of the other servers saw it, too. They said it made them feel uncomfortable. And, that got me thinking.

I don’t want to fit in. Not here, and no where else in the world. I was made to stand out! All of us were made to stand out! That’s how we were created by God! That’s why I’m here, to stand out for Him, and show his love. That’s why you’re here, too. 

So many people see Christians like the Westboro Baptist Church… As people that hate and that tell you, “You’re going to hell for your sins!” Now, I’m not denying that if you don’t repent and turn from your sins you will end up in hell – the Bible tells us that. BUT, the Bible also tells us to LOVE one another. Jesus tells us to GO and take His love across the globe! Maybe you can’t go across the globe right now, that’s completely okay! Start at home. Like I am. We are supposed to love the sinner, and hate the sin. I for one know I’m not perfect by any means. None of us are. But, God sent His one and only son to die on the cross for our sins. Being a Christian isn’t meant to be easy, but it’s so worth it.

Just to hit the nail on the head one more time, we were made to stand out, not to fit in! So embrace being different and I promise you’ll be happier for it.

Leave a Reply

