Fear vs. Courage

Fear is described as anxiety or concern of the outcome of something; an unpleasant emotion by the belief that someone or something is dangerous.

Everyone is afraid of something. What scares you? Is it sharks, or clowns? Maybe snakes? The dark? I’ve been thinking about this a lot recently. What scares you? Is it losing your way? Or losing the people that mean the world to you? I’m terrified of losing the people I care about. I’m terrified of being alone. Not just like being alone. But not having anyone to depend on. I’m scared of giving my heart away. 

But fear is a funny thing, ya know? You can either let it control you, or you can take a stand and face it. So, what do you do when your biggest fears come to life all at once? I keep watching people come and go in my life. Sometimes things happen and all I want to do is call my best friend. My ex-best friend. That I haven’t talked to in almost two years. And I feel alone. And I don’t know who else to tell it to. But then when I find someone that I could care for… Love? I hide. I’m scared. I don’t want to be hurt again. Or lose someone else I care about. 
And I’m sitting here, thinking about every one of these things. And I’m tired of being afraid. Afraid to care and to believe and to trust. To put myself out there.

Courage: the ability to do something that frightens you; strength in the face of pain or grief. 

I’m ready for courage. I want to put myself out there again. I’m ready to be happy.

Leave a Reply

