Free Fallin’

We’ve all heard that song. So many people have done different versions of it but it’s still all the same. “She’s a good girl, loves her mamma, loves Jesus, and America too. She’s a good girl, crazy bout Elvis, loves horses and her boyfriend too.” But he’s a bad boy that breaks her heart. I’m sitting here and I’ve just been listening to this song on repeat. 

“And all the bad boys standing in the shadows and all the good girls are home with broken hearts…”

And I realized something: Why are the good girls always the ones that have the broken hearts in songs? And why do we always fall for the boys that are bad for us? 

What is wrong with being a good girl? And why do guys use us for just enough time for us to get attached and then leave? 

I don’t think it’s fair.

Truthfully, I don’t think there is anything wrong with being the good girl. The one that loves her family and Jesus. That has a moral compass and cares too much. I think it makes you different in this day and age. And those boys that treat us like crap are just that, boys. So why let them determine our emotions? They obviously don’t want a good girl, which lets be honest, they’re missing out. But they still want to mess with our heart strings. It’s ridiculous. But I guess that goes back to my dating post really, here

Back to free fallin’… I don’t think that’s how it’s supposed to work. Do you? I didn’t really think about it until fairly recently, but good girls are always looked down on and expected to hide away with a broken heart. We’re not supposed to be okay. What’s up with that? Why should we let a boy that -obviously- wasn’t good for us cause us to hide away and act like the world is ending while they go off gallivanting? And why are we seperated from the “bad girls” that go out and party after a heart break? Honestly, I like to go out and do things with my friends verses hiding away from the world. I’m not a fragile piece of porcelain that will break if I don’t sit at home and cry my eyes out for a few days. 

This post is honestly all over the place. I’m sorry for that. But my point is, we shouldn’t just free fall into whatever we can becUse chances are you’ll get hurt and then be expected to do things and if you don’t, you’re looked down on as though you’re a robot. But then if you show your emotions you’re being dramatic… I don’t know. Just some more thoughts from me.

Leave a Reply

